Aysegul Gunduz, PhD


Dr. Ayse (pronounced eye+shea) Gunduz is the Director of the Brain Mapping Laboratory and an Associate Professor at the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida. Her research interests include neural interfacing, neural signal processing, neuromodulation, neurological disorders, as well as cortical and deep brain stimulation in human subjects.

Dr. Gunduz earned her BS, MS, and PhD degrees in Electrical Engineering from Middle East Technical University (Ankara, Turkey, 2001), North Carolina State University (Raleigh, NC, 2003), and University of Florida (Gainesville, FL, 2008), respectively. She received postdoctoral training at Albany Medical College, Department of Neurology, and at the Wadsworth Center, Division of Translational Medicine in Albany, NY. Dr. Gunduz has affiliations with the UF Center for Movement Disorders and Neurorestoration, Malcolm Randall VA Medical Center Brain Rehabilitation Research Center (BRRC), UF Dept of Neuroscience (IDP), UF Dept of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE), and UF Dept of Neurology.

She is the recipient of the National Science Foundation Early CAREER Award (2016), International Academy of Medical and Biological Engineering Early Career Award (2015), Anita Borg Institute Denice Denton Emerging Leader Award (2017), UF Provost’s Excellence Award for Assistant Professors (2017), UF Pramod P. Khargonekar Junior Faculty Award for Excellence (2018), UF Preeminence Term Professorship (2017-20), UF Clinical and Translational Sciences Institute NIH KL2 Scholarship (2015), and is a Pruitt Family Endowed Faculty Fellow (2017-20) and an IEEE Senior Member.